Lorine L. Brown
Lorine L. Brown
  • November 19, 1916 - September 17, 2017
  • Temple, Texas

Share This Obituary

Arrangements made by

Cole Funeral Home

1113 West 5th Street
Mcgregor, TX 76657
Get Directions

Profile of Cole Funeral Home

View Phone Number

Mrs. Lorine Beerwinkle Brown, age 100, passed away Sunday, Sept. 17, 2017 in Temple, Texas.
Funeral service will be Thursday, Sept. 21, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. at Cole Funeral Chapel in Moody with Reverend Josh Pruett officiating. Graveside service will be at 4:30 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 21, at Rocksprings Cemetery in Rocksprings with Reverend Nancy Littlefield officiating. Visitation will be one hour prior to service time.

Lorine was born November 19, 1916 to Otto Gus Beerwinkle and Minnie Wiese Beerwinkle in Moody, Texas. She was the oldest of five children. Lorine attended school in the Stampede community and graduated from Moody High School in 1934. She attended a business school in Tyler, Texas and returned home to work several years at Fort Hood, then called Camp Hood. Lorine received her degree in Secondary Education from the University of Texas in 1948 and began her teaching career in Mason, Texas. She then moved to Rocksprings, Texas where she taught English and later became the Librarian.

Lorine married Horace Brown in 1959. After Horace retired from serving as Edwards County Judge and her retirement from Rocksprings ISD; they enjoyed working at their Pecan orchard near Montell, Texas. They were awarded many ribbons for their pecans.

Lorine was honored as the "Old Settlers Queen" of Edward County in 2007 at the age of 90. She was a member of the First United Methodist Church in Rocksprings where she played the piano for services and taught the adult Sunday school for many years.

Lorine was preceded in death by her husband, Horace in 1998, both parents, three brothers, Wesley, Milton, and Elmer; sister, Leona Myrick. She is survived by four sisters-in-law, numerous nieces and nephews, and a host of friends.

Pallbearers: Ronnie Beerwinkle, Marshall Beerwinkle, John Perryman, Wesley Perryman, David Murphy, Steve Morriss and Bill Culpepper.